New Transmitters

Forum for Armortek Owners to Meet, chat and share knowledge. You are advised to check 'official advice' before carrying out any modifications.
User avatar
Youngjae Bae
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:01 am
Location: South Korea
Has liked: 481 times
Been Liked: 339 times

Re: New Transmitters

Post by Youngjae Bae » Fri Jan 10, 2020 1:09 pm

Dennis Jones wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 12:10 pm
Youngjae,

I would put failsafe on all channels if I was you. Nearly all radio gear has had failsafe on all channels for quite a few years now. It only used to be on channel 3 the throttle channel, which for tank users was a waste of time. The radio gear has to have 2 way communication in order to bind the tx to the rx, it has been like this since 2.4 ghz came out.

Dennis
Dennis

I am grateful for your advice on safety. And thank you for letting me know that the latest radio that binds has two-way communication between the transmitter and the receiver.
I immediately set up an intuitive fail-safe from the first to the fifth.

Youngjae
Attachments
20200110_220220.jpg

User avatar
Adrian Harris
Posts: 3936
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:46 pm
Location: Berkshire (UK)
Has liked: 264 times
Been Liked: 397 times

Re: New Transmitters

Post by Adrian Harris » Fri Jan 10, 2020 2:18 pm

You need to know whether the channel goes from:

a: 0% to 100%, like an aircraft engine
b: -100% to +100% or possibly -50% to +50%, like a rudder

You should be able to see from the monitor screen whether a: or b: applies to a particular transmitter.

For a:, assuming you have the sticks centred as the neutral position, then the failsafe needs to be set to 50%
For b:, assuming you have the sticks centred as the neutral position, then the failsafe needs to be set to 0%

The danger with the Futaba is that the default failsafe on the throttle is 0%, which is full speed, usually in reverse, on one track on a tank. That can be changed in the menu to 50%, which is what is needed for a tank.

My understanding is that the failsafe positions for a Spektrum system are set when the transmitter and receiver are bound together, so if the sticks are centred, that's what is set for the failsafe.

Adrian.
Contact me at sales@armortekaddict.uk for details of my smoker fan control module and other electronic gadgetry

User avatar
Dennis Jones
Posts: 756
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 11:19 am
Location: Poole, Dorset
Has liked: 8 times
Been Liked: 41 times

Re: New Transmitters

Post by Dennis Jones » Fri Jan 10, 2020 3:14 pm

The best way to test the failsafe is to jack the tank up so tracks are off the floor, select full forward on both tracks and hold in that position then switch the transmitter off and if you have set the failsafe correctly the both tracks should stop.

Dennis.

Mark Heaps
Posts: 536
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 3:39 pm
Has liked: 138 times
Been Liked: 154 times

Re: New Transmitters

Post by Mark Heaps » Fri Jan 10, 2020 4:58 pm

I would suggest a better way to test the failsafe is whilst bench-testing the electronics prior to fitting into the model, and then another confirmatory check afterwards before attaching the tracks.

Fail-safe on turret traverse and gun elevation should also be enabled if at all possible. Maybe not so important on a model, but on a real tank if the vehicle was out of control, the crew could brace for impact with whatever is going to stop them or jump off if it was about to go over a cliff. If the turret or gun went rogue, all the turret crew could do was try their hardest to keep extremities out of the danger zones whilst shutting the systems down.

A turret was a dangerous place at all times, and if you did not watch out, the turret monster would get you.

Mark

Christoffer Ahlfors
Posts: 439
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:19 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Has liked: 265 times
Been Liked: 89 times

Re: New Transmitters

Post by Christoffer Ahlfors » Fri Jan 10, 2020 10:28 pm

Mark Heaps wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 4:58 pm
A turret was a dangerous place at all times, and if you did not watch out, the turret monster would get you.
It got both my tiger 1 forward deck hatches... :shock:
Klotzen, nicht kleckern (Guderian on panzer tactics, but the way I interpret it - it applies to a great many things in life)

User avatar
Youngjae Bae
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:01 am
Location: South Korea
Has liked: 481 times
Been Liked: 339 times

Re: New Transmitters

Post by Youngjae Bae » Sat Jan 11, 2020 1:03 am

Adrian Harris wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 2:18 pm
You need to know whether the channel goes from:

a: 0% to 100%, like an aircraft engine
b: -100% to +100% or possibly -50% to +50%, like a rudder

You should be able to see from the monitor screen whether a: or b: applies to a particular transmitter.

For a:, assuming you have the sticks centred as the neutral position, then the failsafe needs to be set to 50%
For b:, assuming you have the sticks centred as the neutral position, then the failsafe needs to be set to 0%

The danger with the Futaba is that the default failsafe on the throttle is 0%, which is full speed, usually in reverse, on one track on a tank. That can be changed in the menu to 50%, which is what is needed for a tank.

My understanding is that the failsafe positions for a Spektrum system are set when the transmitter and receiver are bound together, so if the sticks are centred, that's what is set for the failsafe.

Adrian.
This radio corresponds to case b.
I tested a small servo by connecting it to the receiver before installing the system in the tank.
And I found that the fail-safe function worked well.
Thank you very much.

Youngjae

User avatar
Youngjae Bae
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:01 am
Location: South Korea
Has liked: 481 times
Been Liked: 339 times

Re: New Transmitters

Post by Youngjae Bae » Sat Jan 11, 2020 1:05 am

Dennis Jones wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 3:14 pm
The best way to test the failsafe is to jack the tank up so tracks are off the floor, select full forward on both tracks and hold in that position then switch the transmitter off and if you have set the failsafe correctly the both tracks should stop.

Dennis.
I tested like you said and confirmed that the tank was well stopped.
Thank you.

Youngjae

User avatar
Youngjae Bae
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:01 am
Location: South Korea
Has liked: 481 times
Been Liked: 339 times

Re: New Transmitters

Post by Youngjae Bae » Tue Jan 14, 2020 1:13 am

I noticed that the RC system with the Flysky FS-i6X and iA10B receiver bound had problems synchronizing with the optional packs on Armortek.
When I connected motion pack A and motion pack B to the receiver at the same time, I could see that motion pack A has failed.
Of course I'm talking about driving a transmitter one-handed.
The rest of the sound options, smoke options, recoil operations and motion pack B are fine.

For example, when I move forward or reverse the right stick of the transmitter, the tank follows the forward and backward well.
However, if I push the right stick from neutral to right, the normal movement is to drive forwards on the left track and reverse on the right.
However, the left side moves forward, the right side stops trying to reverse for a while.
Also, if I operate the right stick of the transmitter on the left side, normally the left track will reverse and the right track will move forward at the same time, but the right track will move forward and the left track will not reverse.

The strange thing is that when I do a bench test, everything works normally.
But if I drive my tank on the ground, there is an error.
If I remove the two receiver lines connected with Motion Option B, it will operate normally on the ground. And in this case, sometimes when the power switch is first connected, I hear a "tic tic" sound sometimes trying to change direction.

Who knows how to solve these causes or problems?

I'm going to do another test in a few days by switching to a two-stick method.

Best Regards,
Youngjae

User avatar
Adrian Harris
Posts: 3936
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:46 pm
Location: Berkshire (UK)
Has liked: 264 times
Been Liked: 397 times

Re: New Transmitters

Post by Adrian Harris » Tue Jan 14, 2020 7:47 am

This sounds like the same problem Mick Hilton was having with his Grant.

As standard, both Module A and Module B will provide 5V power for the receiver. It sounds like Module A doesn't like having its 5V receiver supply linked to the 5V supply from Module B, which is why they work OK separability but not when connected together.

The easiest fix is to prevent the 5V supply from one or other of the modules from reaching the receiver. To do this, you need to disconnect the red pin from the RC leads from one of the modules.

To do this without damaging any of the leads, you will need to use a small flat bladed screwdriver to lift the tab in the black three way plug, then the red lead should slide out the back. You may need to separate the three wires to give yourself enough slack to get the pin out. Tape it up so it can't short on anything.

Adrian.
Contact me at sales@armortekaddict.uk for details of my smoker fan control module and other electronic gadgetry

User avatar
Youngjae Bae
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:01 am
Location: South Korea
Has liked: 481 times
Been Liked: 339 times

Re: New Transmitters

Post by Youngjae Bae » Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:41 am

Dear Adrian,

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.
I understand exactly what you are saying.
I will prepare a servo extension line tomorrow, cut the red of the extension line and test it by preventing module B from supplying power to the receiver at the same time when Module A supplies the current.
Once again, thank you very much.

Youngjae

User avatar
Youngjae Bae
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:01 am
Location: South Korea
Has liked: 481 times
Been Liked: 339 times

Re: New Transmitters

Post by Youngjae Bae » Sun Jan 19, 2020 10:36 pm

I am trying to make a new analysis.

To solve the problem that the flysky transceiver caused my Chieftain, I experimented with several cases of power supplied to the receiver according to Adrian's advice, but failed to resolve it.

My tank loses its problem is Pivot on the ground.
The pivot on a low-load bench still works well.
My ground should also consider grass resistance to lawns.
The overload shut-off relay swatches were found to be working to remove motion pack B from the lawn and check if the motion is overloaded from time to time.

First of all, I purchased AR610 receiver and ix12 transmitter (Mode1) of the spectrum separately on the Internet last week, and at the same time, I expect to purchase DX6 transmitter and AR610 receiver set (Mode2) together and receive it by tomorrow.

First, AR610 and ix12 that arrived were bound and changed mode to 2 to complete motion test using servo.
However, I will test the application of chieftain with DX6+AR610, and if there is no problem in the future, I will only copy the data of DX6 and test it further.
Anyway, I needed a special transceiver for the upcoming king tiger, so I think it's not a bad idea to buy it and test it.
Attachments
20200118_131846.jpg
e97a5f90f658650d209295b3b29b543ab2231e1f.jpg

User avatar
Dennis Jones
Posts: 756
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 11:19 am
Location: Poole, Dorset
Has liked: 8 times
Been Liked: 41 times

Re: New Transmitters

Post by Dennis Jones » Mon Jan 20, 2020 11:10 am

I would have used one transmitter to run both tanks because with the Spektrum you actually bind the receiver to the model so you can't accidentally run 2 tanks at once. I run about 6 different models from one transmitter and I sometimes leave the models in standby until I select one of them.

Dennis.

Post Reply
cron