A Chequered Chieftain at #10

Forum for discussion relating to the Chietain MBT
Richard Goodwin
Has liked: 278 times
Been liked: 266 times

A Chequered Chieftain at #10

Post by Richard Goodwin »

Welcome to my very first build blog. I've never built an Armortek model before nor anything approaching this size, let alone the weight! The the last time I did anything mechanical (other than fix the car) was over 40 years ago in my apprenticeships so I have a steep learning curve to overcome and be of no doubt, I will be asking plenty of newbie questions to our experts :roll: so please be gentle :wink:

As the title suggests, the lady I'm going to model will be smartly dressed in Urban Camo. She will also undertake a modification program to bring her up to the Mk10 standard ie 'Stillbrew', a challenge in itself methinks. 03 EB 20 will be my subject and unlike many of her sisters, is still in one piece and currently resides at the Combined Military Services Museum in Maldon, Essex.

From the brief history kindly provided by CMSM, 03 EB 20 started life in 1967 as a Mk2. She initially served in BATUS then with the Royal Scots Dragoon Guards, the 5th Royal Inniskilling Dragoon Guards, the Queens Royal Irish Hussars, and finally, with SHQ Troop, C Squadron, 14/20th Kings Hussars as part of the Berlin Armoured Brigade from 1988 with the call sign Zero Delta. Following the collapse of the Berlin Wall, C Squadron left Berlin in 1991 and returned to their Regiment. In 1992 she was returned to the CVD in Wiltshire where she was struck off to the Imperial War Museum at Duxford in 1995. Around 2016, she was moved to CMSM less her engine!