Spektrum DX8G2

Covering Transmitters/ receivers, wiring schematics, requests for new options, etc
Post Reply
Simon Peck
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:24 am
Been Liked: 21 times

Spektrum DX8G2

Post by Simon Peck » Mon Sep 14, 2020 10:00 am

Dear All,

I’ve a new transmitter (tx) and receiver (rx) all plugged in as per instructions (I think!) but I can’t get the tx and rx to bind. I’ve increased the distance between the two to say 2m, I’ve set the receiver flat on the table etc, but I always get ‘bind failed’. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
Adrian Harris
Posts: 4003
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:46 pm
Location: Berkshire (UK)
Has liked: 314 times
Been Liked: 431 times

Re: Spektrum DX8G2

Post by Adrian Harris » Mon Sep 14, 2020 10:38 am

Does the RX use a bind plug or is it one of the newer ones with a bind button ?

Adrian.
Contact me at sales@armortekaddict.uk for details of my smoker fan control module and other electronic gadgetry

Simon Peck
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:24 am
Been Liked: 21 times

Re: Spektrum DX8G2

Post by Simon Peck » Mon Sep 14, 2020 12:24 pm

Good question Adrian - both! Didn’t come with a bind plug, so I made one. The paper manual is very generic and doesnt strictly cover the exact model of equipment.
Attachments
C0760A0A-53BE-4B9E-99A5-80B0CB9DEA05.jpeg

User avatar
Adrian Harris
Posts: 4003
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:46 pm
Location: Berkshire (UK)
Has liked: 314 times
Been Liked: 431 times

Re: Spektrum DX8G2

Post by Adrian Harris » Mon Sep 14, 2020 12:57 pm

It's usually pretty straightforwards.

I would remove the bind plug as its not needed with that receiver.

Power up the receiver with the bind button pressed. Release the button after a second or so and the receiver LED should flash orange to show it is in bind mode.

Power up the transmitter with the bind button pressed, then release and it should go through the bind process.

Once bound, power both off (receiver first) then power back on (transmitter first) and receiver LED should be a solid orange to show it is bound.

Adrian
Last edited by Adrian Harris on Tue Sep 15, 2020 3:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Contact me at sales@armortekaddict.uk for details of my smoker fan control module and other electronic gadgetry

User avatar
Stephen White
Site Admin
Posts: 2623
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 7:05 pm
Location: Dorset
Has liked: 377 times
Been Liked: 936 times

Re: Spektrum DX8G2

Post by Stephen White » Mon Sep 14, 2020 1:39 pm

Simon

I’ve had the same problem with Spektrum. Increasing the separation between ex and tx didn’t immediately produce a bind. You can also make sure that the wire antennae on the rx are at 90deg to each other. After these two checks, there isn’t much else to do but keep trying, using the process Adrian described. It took me several goes on the last occasion but eventually I got a successful bind and after that, it’s been first time every time.

Simon Peck
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:24 am
Been Liked: 21 times

Re: Spektrum DX8G2

Post by Simon Peck » Tue Sep 15, 2020 6:33 am

Adrian, Stephen. Thanks for the replies. I’ve tried all angles, I wonder if I’ve somehow plugged it wrong? Stephen, when you had this issue, was there anything you did, you thought may have helped the two to bind?

User avatar
Adrian Harris
Posts: 4003
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:46 pm
Location: Berkshire (UK)
Has liked: 314 times
Been Liked: 431 times

Re: Spektrum DX8G2

Post by Adrian Harris » Tue Sep 15, 2020 3:16 pm

I've no idea if these make a difference but is the frame rate set to 22ms and the Mode set to DSMX ?

The Frame Rate page is under the System Setup menu.

Adrian.
Contact me at sales@armortekaddict.uk for details of my smoker fan control module and other electronic gadgetry

Simon Peck
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:24 am
Been Liked: 21 times

Re: Spektrum DX8G2

Post by Simon Peck » Wed Sep 16, 2020 10:25 am

Hi Adrian,

Yes, frame rate and mode are set to 22ms, DSMX. I bought two, and both do the same thing, on two separate Armortek modules. I’m plugged into: Battery, Throttle and Elevator. With two identical units, it must be something I’m doing/not doing, but I don’t see it.

Any ideas?

User avatar
Adrian Harris
Posts: 4003
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:46 pm
Location: Berkshire (UK)
Has liked: 314 times
Been Liked: 431 times

Re: Spektrum DX8G2

Post by Adrian Harris » Wed Sep 16, 2020 10:49 am

It's your wiring...

Peck.jpg

If you look at the picture above, with the part ringed in red, it shows that the servo plugs should be inserted into the receiver with the signal wires towards the centre of the receiver and the ground wires (-) towards the outside of the receiver.

In that sort of Armortek wiring, the green is the earth, the red is the power and the blue is the signal, so you have the plugs in the receiver the wrong way round.

Plug them in so that the blues are towards the centre of the receiver and it should work.

Adrian.
Contact me at sales@armortekaddict.uk for details of my smoker fan control module and other electronic gadgetry

Simon Peck
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:24 am
Been Liked: 21 times

Re: Spektrum DX8G2

Post by Simon Peck » Wed Sep 16, 2020 12:49 pm

Thank you Adrian! That fixed it. Now the rx’s are bound to the tx’s, but nothing happens in response to stick movement. I’ve plugged right track to elevator, and left track to throttle but there’s no response at all. Your help is much appreciated!

User avatar
Adrian Harris
Posts: 4003
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:46 pm
Location: Berkshire (UK)
Has liked: 314 times
Been Liked: 431 times

Re: Spektrum DX8G2

Post by Adrian Harris » Wed Sep 16, 2020 1:05 pm

The quickest way to test these things is to plug an ordinary servo into each of the receiver outlets in turn and seeing which stick and switch operates each channel.

If you roll the thumb wheel on the transmitter to the right, you will get a monitor screen, which shows what it thinks should be happening on each channel.

Adrian.
Contact me at sales@armortekaddict.uk for details of my smoker fan control module and other electronic gadgetry

Post Reply