LAST SHIPPING DATE FOR 2019 WILL BE THURSDAY 12TH DECEMBER.
SHIPPING WILL RESUME ON THE 6TH JANUARY 2020.

Sound setup for Quad

Forum for discussion relating to the Morris Quad
Post Reply
paul&robinmargle
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 5:12 pm
Location: Ware, Hertfordshire

Sound setup for Quad

Post by paul&robinmargle » Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:26 pm

Hi,

We are having trouble getting the sound working on Paul's Quad. We have a DX6 transmitter and AR610 receiver, wired it up exactly as the schematic in the Armortek manual. I changed the steering, motor and winch channels to our preferred sticks.
We can't get the engine sound to play after pressing the little button on the audio module during the setup and have no idea which toggle switch on the transmitter the instructions refer to.
Speaker is working, one beep when it switches on.
Can anyone help?

Robin

User avatar
Stephen White
Site Admin
Posts: 2410
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 7:05 pm
Location: Dorset
Has liked: 322 times
Been Liked: 645 times

Re: Sound setup for Quad

Post by Stephen White » Wed Nov 30, 2016 4:01 pm

Robin, have you looked at the relevant topic in the Knowledge Base, which might help you understand the sequence for setting up the sound card? It's here:

http://www.armortek.co.uk/Forum3b/viewt ... =34&t=5809

Stephen

Peter Silcock
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: The grim north
Has liked: 16 times
Been Liked: 4 times

Re: Sound setup for Quad

Post by Peter Silcock » Wed Nov 30, 2016 4:22 pm

Robin you will have to check what channel on the receiver you have plugged the sound selection channel into. If say its channel 5 you will then have to alter your transmitter so that channel 5 is allocated to the particular toggle switch you want to use for sound. Easy on Futaba but sorry don't know how to do it on yours. A quick way of identifying channels is to plug a servo into each channel and then see which switch operates what channel. You will need either one of the joysticks or a three position switch to operate the sound. As said above check the Knowledge Base as well.

michael hilton
Posts: 974
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:29 pm
Has liked: 437 times
Been Liked: 219 times

Re: Sound setup for Quad

Post by michael hilton » Wed Nov 30, 2016 4:33 pm

Hello Robin, I have the Quad, The Spektrum DX6 and the AR610. This is my setup.
I have the steering on the left hand stick.... left/right. The 'sounds' are on the right hand stick with engine movement forward/reverse. The winch is controlled by the toggle switch 'D'.
If you have set the 'sounds' programme you have to toggle the switch left/right or up/down to activate. The engine start-up is the first sound you hear. Each sound requires a set number of movements, for example, move the toggle/switch left three times then right once sounds the horn etc,. ....Mick

User avatar
Adrian Harris
Posts: 3723
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:46 pm
Location: Berkshire (UK)
Has liked: 149 times
Been Liked: 253 times

Re: Sound setup for Quad

Post by Adrian Harris » Wed Nov 30, 2016 4:40 pm

Unfortunately, the Knowledgebase article assumes that the transmitter has been modified by the addition of a rotary encoder or switch.

I would second Peter's suggestion of plugging a servo into each channel on the receiver, so that you can map which transmitter control affects which receiver channel.

To change a channel assignment on the transmitter, you need to click and hold the roller to enter the System Setup screen. Then use the roller to scroll down to Channel Input Config. This will allow you to set a switch to a specific function.

It's explained on page 16 of the current DX6 manual.

Adrian.
R.I.P Margaret I.L.Y

User avatar
Dennis Jones
Posts: 732
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 11:19 am
Location: Poole, Dorset
Has liked: 6 times
Been Liked: 23 times

Re: Sound setup for Quad

Post by Dennis Jones » Wed Nov 30, 2016 5:08 pm

I would have thought that the winch would be better controlled by the second speed controller.

Dennis.

User avatar
Stephen White
Site Admin
Posts: 2410
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 7:05 pm
Location: Dorset
Has liked: 322 times
Been Liked: 645 times

Re: Sound setup for Quad

Post by Stephen White » Wed Nov 30, 2016 5:26 pm

Adrian is correct in saying the KB Topic assumes a rotary encoder but that is only part of the process. Even if you use a toggle switch or stick, I'd still recommend you read it because it also tells you how to "teach" the sounds to your setup and gives you insight into how the sound card behaves during setup.

The process you need to follow is the same as the KB Topic, with one change. Just disregard the Section titled: To change to encoder control. This isn't needed as the sound card should be set to toggle switch (or stick) control by default. You can confirm this in the way Peter suggested. Having done that, follow the rest.

Stephen

paul&robinmargle
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 5:12 pm
Location: Ware, Hertfordshire

Re: Sound setup for Quad

Post by paul&robinmargle » Thu Dec 01, 2016 6:35 pm

Thanks everyone, we identified which switch it was using by using the servo as suggested and then followed the armortek instructions. Love the voices, will have to get it working on the cent too.

Robin

Post Reply