DX8 advice for new to RC

An unofficial resource of techniques, information and best practice to help you get most from your Armortek model.
Andy McMath
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:25 pm
Location: Chorley UK
Has liked: 10 times
Been Liked: 16 times

DX8 advice for new to RC

Post by Andy McMath » Thu Apr 16, 2020 5:11 pm

Hi,

I have reached the point where I need to test run the electrics on my Chieftain. Only issue is this is my first RC model and with the terminology aimed at aircraft I am finding it a little confusing.

The DX8 is set to mode 2 and I have a AR8010t receiver which it is bound to.

A little naively I wired everything up as per 5a diagram in the motion folder and expected some movement from the drive motors but sadly nothing happened.

I have checked and there is power going into module A but I am not convinced there is any getting to the motors as there is nothing showing on the output side not even to the smoke fan.

So do I have to set the DX8 up for a particular model and what switch’s need assigning to what.

I have the full smoke, recoil, motion sound.

Thanks in advance.

Vince Cutajar
Posts: 1594
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 1:43 pm
Location: Malta
Has liked: 294 times
Been Liked: 981 times

Re: DX8 advice for new to RC

Post by Vince Cutajar » Thu Apr 16, 2020 5:50 pm

Hi Adrian

I feel your pain. I was exactly in your shoes when I came to set up my DX8 for my Tiger 1 a year ago. Unfortunately I can't really offer any advice as I was using the previous electronic boxes and not the new red ones. I am assuming you are starting with the basic setup to just run the motors in a two stick configuration (left stick up/down to control one motor and right stick up/down to control the other motor). Which receiver outputs are you using. If I remember correctly the THRO output will be controlled by the left stick and the ELEV output will be controlled by the right stick.

I am sure some R/C experts will be able to help you better.

Vince

User avatar
Adrian Harris
Posts: 4037
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:46 pm
Location: Berkshire (UK)
Has liked: 332 times
Been Liked: 445 times

Re: DX8 advice for new to RC

Post by Adrian Harris » Thu Apr 16, 2020 6:06 pm

The DX8 should work out of the box, with each stick operating one track. You only need to change things if you want to move to single stick control, but I would prove all the electrics first before you attempt that.

I must admit I don't have a red box motion pack to play with, but there are a lot of interconnections between the various modules, so I advise you break everything down and just start with the Power Module and Motor Control A and see if you can get the main motors running. That will prove a lot of the wiring, the receiver and transmitter etc.

Once you have that working, try adding Motor Control B see if you can get the traverse to work, without affecting the main motors.

Adrian.
Contact me at sales@armortekaddict.uk for details of my smoker fan control module and other electronic gadgetry

Andy McMath
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:25 pm
Location: Chorley UK
Has liked: 10 times
Been Liked: 16 times

Re: DX8 advice for new to RC

Post by Andy McMath » Thu Apr 16, 2020 7:51 pm

Hi Adrian, that is what I am starting at the basic set up, I have not added anything else yet. The power module has power in and out but module A power in but doesn’t seem to be putting any out, I am not sure if it’s because you need a signal from the dx8 which it isn’t getting or there isn’t any power getting to the motors.

I was under the impression that with it being mode 2 both motors are operated by the right Stick.

The left stick will control the turret and barrel.

Give me a bloody motorbike any day, this rc stuff is frustrating you just can’t see radio waves. I will keep trying.

Thanks so far guys.

Andy

User avatar
Stephen White
Site Admin
Posts: 2642
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 7:05 pm
Location: Dorset
Has liked: 380 times
Been Liked: 948 times

Re: DX8 advice for new to RC

Post by Stephen White » Thu Apr 16, 2020 8:51 pm

Andy, have you bound the receiver to the transmitter? Have you read the guide in the Knowledge Base? Binding just allows the transmitter to talk to the receiver, it's simple to do and the instructions will be in the Spectrum manual or have a look at one of the many YouTube videos on the subject. The Knowledge Base topic goes into more detail about setting up the system but, I haven't updated it for the new red modules.

Andy McMath
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:25 pm
Location: Chorley UK
Has liked: 10 times
Been Liked: 16 times

Re: DX8 advice for new to RC

Post by Andy McMath » Thu Apr 16, 2020 9:05 pm

Stephen White wrote:
Thu Apr 16, 2020 8:51 pm
Andy, have you bound the receiver to the transmitter? Have you read the guide in the Knowledge Base? Binding just allows the transmitter to talk to the receiver, it's simple to do and the instructions will be in the Spectrum manual or have a look at one of the many YouTube videos on the subject. The Knowledge Base topic goes into more detail about setting up the system but, I haven't updated it for the new red modules.
Hi Stephen, yes I have bound the receiver/transmitter as per instructions.

Andy

User avatar
Adrian Harris
Posts: 4037
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:46 pm
Location: Berkshire (UK)
Has liked: 332 times
Been Liked: 445 times

Re: DX8 advice for new to RC

Post by Adrian Harris » Thu Apr 16, 2020 10:36 pm

> I was under the impression that with it being mode 2 both motors are operated by the right Stick.

It may be that Armortek have enabled the tank driving mode on these controllers already, which would negate the need to change the transmitter set up.

Can you try a servo in each of the receiver outputs to ensure that moving the transmitter stick results in the expected output on the receiver ?

Adrian.
Contact me at sales@armortekaddict.uk for details of my smoker fan control module and other electronic gadgetry

User avatar
Tom Miller
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu May 23, 2019 9:23 pm
Location: Portland Oregon USA
Been Liked: 111 times

Re: DX8 advice for new to RC

Post by Tom Miller » Fri Apr 17, 2020 2:32 am

Hi Andy,
I too have the DX8 and same receiver as you. Here is a link to an Armortek instruction for setting up a Spektrum system. I used it to set up 2 models and it works great.
viewtopic.php?f=34&t=5795
Tom

michael hilton
Posts: 1018
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:29 pm
Has liked: 748 times
Been Liked: 390 times

Re: DX8 advice for new to RC

Post by michael hilton » Fri Apr 17, 2020 7:40 am

Hello Andy, I have this Spektrum TX/RX setup. If it helps have a look at my M3 Grant build. Towards the end of the build I have a photograph showing my motion pack layout. It may be worth a look....I use two stick motor control....keep at it, it will come together...Mick

Peter Silcock
Posts: 321
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: The grim north
Has liked: 41 times
Been Liked: 13 times

Re: DX8 advice for new to RC

Post by Peter Silcock » Fri Apr 17, 2020 9:29 am

It's a shame Andy - in normal times I am in Chorley a lot and could have given you a hand, but I doubt the rozzers would allow helping to set up a toy tank as an allowable excuse! It's much easier to sort this type of problem when you have all the gear in front of you. Hope you get it sorted, it can be very frustrating when you are new to rc stuff.

User avatar
Stephen White
Site Admin
Posts: 2642
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 7:05 pm
Location: Dorset
Has liked: 380 times
Been Liked: 948 times

Re: DX8 advice for new to RC

Post by Stephen White » Fri Apr 17, 2020 11:57 am

Andy, the Knowledge Base topic I recommended is also what Tom Miller has suggested. If you follow that guide, it should get you on the road. Best of luck.

Andy McMath
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:25 pm
Location: Chorley UK
Has liked: 10 times
Been Liked: 16 times

Re: DX8 advice for new to RC

Post by Andy McMath » Fri Apr 17, 2020 3:30 pm

Thanks for the advice everyone.

I have set my DX8 up as per the post on the forum but still no luck getting the motors to move. I dont want to try anything else at the moment just in case but have ordered a couple of servos which when connected should tell me if there is anything up with the AR8010t output to Module A.

Should get here next week but there is plenty to do in the meantime.

Will keep you all posted.

Andy

User avatar
Tom Miller
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu May 23, 2019 9:23 pm
Location: Portland Oregon USA
Been Liked: 111 times

Re: DX8 advice for new to RC

Post by Tom Miller » Fri Apr 17, 2020 4:46 pm

Andy,
One more thing. Make sure the plugs that go into the receiver are orientated correctly. The Black wire should be facing up. At any rate try reversing the orientation of the plugs and see if that solves the problem.
Tom

Andy McMath
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:25 pm
Location: Chorley UK
Has liked: 10 times
Been Liked: 16 times

Re: DX8 advice for new to RC

Post by Andy McMath » Wed Apr 22, 2020 6:34 pm

O kay, Update.

I have bound the receiver to the transmitter, I have checked all ports work with a servo, but when I connect to Module A and the motors there is nothing. I confirm I have 24v going into Module A but can not get a reading coming out of the unit. I have checked the fuse in the power Box but as there is 24v coming out that isn’t the issue.

Apart form a faulty Module A I can not think what else it could be.

I have connected Module B upto check the turret motor and that works great, so it can only be a Faulty Module A?

User avatar
Tom Miller
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu May 23, 2019 9:23 pm
Location: Portland Oregon USA
Been Liked: 111 times

Re: DX8 advice for new to RC

Post by Tom Miller » Wed Apr 22, 2020 10:23 pm

I had a recent issue like this only in reverse. My module A worked but not module B. Armortek advised me that there in only supposed to be voltage going to the receiver from module A. I checked to see if I was getting voltage out of module B and sure enough I was. The red wire in the center of the connectors is the one supplying power to the receiver. I pulled the red wires out of the connectors coming from module B where they go into the receiver and sure enough now everything worked properly. The red wires are supposed to be disconnected at the factory but mine were not.
Tom

Post Reply