Can I change the sound unit

Forum for discussion relating to the Jagdpanther
Post Reply
User avatar
Steen Vøler
Posts: 516
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:45 pm
Location: Denmark
Has liked: 19 times
Been Liked: 92 times
Contact:

Can I change the sound unit

Post by Steen Vøler » Wed Dec 19, 2012 11:43 am

Hi all

I bought a used JagdPanther and looking through the electronics I can see that the sound unit must be from the first productions, as it is not a Benedini sound unit.

The sound has some "noice" so I guess the sound box/amplifier is somehow not working correct. Would that be something that can be fixed

Alternative solution would be to make a change to the setup, so that I get the Benedini sound unit in the tank.

Would this be complicated to change?

Which Benedini sound module do I buy

Shall I only remove the old sound unit and reconnect the servo wiring? My thought was to connect the Benidini and a smoker to a seperate 12v battery.

Any suggestions?

cheers
Steen
cheers
Steen

www.panzerteam.dk

User avatar
Adrian Harris
Posts: 3644
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:46 pm
Location: Berkshire (UK)
Has liked: 119 times
Been Liked: 187 times

Re: Can I change the sound unit

Post by Adrian Harris » Wed Dec 19, 2012 12:29 pm

Hi Steen.

Could you post a picture of your sound unit ?

How easy or complicated it is to fit a Benedini depends on whether the rest of your wiring is from Armortek or not.

Adrian
R.I.P Margaret I.L.Y

User avatar
Armortek
Site Admin
Posts: 2007
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:30 am
Location: Winchester, England
Been Liked: 333 times

Re: Can I change the sound unit

Post by Armortek » Wed Dec 19, 2012 12:36 pm

Hi Steen

Armortek only ever supplied Benedini sound systems with Jagdpanthers. If you have
something else it must have been fitted by the previous owner, and purchased from another supplier. As Adrian said, post some pictures, and we can help.

Mark
Armortek

User avatar
Steen Vøler
Posts: 516
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:45 pm
Location: Denmark
Has liked: 19 times
Been Liked: 92 times
Contact:

Re: Can I change the sound unit

Post by Steen Vøler » Wed Dec 19, 2012 12:41 pm

Hi Adrian

I have attached a pair of photos that I hope helps

cheers
Steen

Image
Image
cheers
Steen

www.panzerteam.dk

User avatar
Armortek
Site Admin
Posts: 2007
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:30 am
Location: Winchester, England
Been Liked: 333 times

Re: Can I change the sound unit

Post by Armortek » Wed Dec 19, 2012 12:50 pm

Hi Steen

Ok. The sound unit is an early Armortek type fitted with a Benedini sound card. You could upgrade to the Armortek Amplifier Module, that is the current system. You could re-use your existing Benedini card. The servo is completely non standard, and I can not see what it does. You don't need a servo for the sound system.

Mark
Armortek

User avatar
Steen Vøler
Posts: 516
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:45 pm
Location: Denmark
Has liked: 19 times
Been Liked: 92 times
Contact:

Re: Can I change the sound unit

Post by Steen Vøler » Wed Dec 19, 2012 12:58 pm

Thanks Mark

How much would I need to pay for the new system

cheers
Steen
cheers
Steen

www.panzerteam.dk

User avatar
Armortek
Site Admin
Posts: 2007
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:30 am
Location: Winchester, England
Been Liked: 333 times

Re: Can I change the sound unit

Post by Armortek » Wed Dec 19, 2012 12:59 pm

Hi Steen

Contact Gill on sales@armortek.co.uk and she will let you have the details

Mark
Armortek

User avatar
Adrian Harris
Posts: 3644
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:46 pm
Location: Berkshire (UK)
Has liked: 119 times
Been Liked: 187 times

Re: Can I change the sound unit

Post by Adrian Harris » Wed Dec 19, 2012 1:47 pm

The servo looks like it's being used as a crude method to create a pair of RC controlled switches.

The switch it is resting against looks like it has had both connections cut.

You would need to follow the figure-of-8 cable from the other switch to see what it is actually controlling.

Adrian.
R.I.P Margaret I.L.Y

User avatar
Steen Vøler
Posts: 516
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:45 pm
Location: Denmark
Has liked: 19 times
Been Liked: 92 times
Contact:

Re: Can I change the sound unit

Post by Steen Vøler » Wed Dec 19, 2012 2:27 pm

thanks Adrian

Believe I need to do a rewiring of the tank to clean it up

cheers
Steen
cheers
Steen

www.panzerteam.dk

User avatar
John Fitzsimons
Posts: 1595
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 3:11 pm
Location: IRELAND,Dublin/Meath
Been Liked: 8 times

Re: Can I change the sound unit

Post by John Fitzsimons » Wed Dec 19, 2012 5:54 pm

I had the earlier sound unit in my tiger and sent it back to armortek for upgrade with amp and twin speakers. Works really well now. Make sure you get the correct cables to connect new sound unit to older motion dmr203.
If interested in any parts used in my builds contact me at johnfitzsimons@msn.com for a price list.
Items available. See link to forum post.
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=4770

User avatar
Steen Vøler
Posts: 516
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:45 pm
Location: Denmark
Has liked: 19 times
Been Liked: 92 times
Contact:

Re: Can I change the sound unit

Post by Steen Vøler » Wed Dec 19, 2012 7:21 pm

Thanks John,

That will most likely be my solution also

cheers
Steen
cheers
Steen

www.panzerteam.dk

User avatar
Steen Vøler
Posts: 516
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:45 pm
Location: Denmark
Has liked: 19 times
Been Liked: 92 times
Contact:

Re: Can I change the sound unit

Post by Steen Vøler » Thu Jan 31, 2013 9:15 am

So, I decided to go with the Armortek sound solution with the new speakers included.

really look forward to recieve it and get the sounds back into my JagdPanther

cheers
Steen
cheers
Steen

www.panzerteam.dk

Olaf Claus
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 8:40 pm
Location: "South Front of Ruhrkessel" Siegen West Germany

Re: Can I change the sound unit

Post by Olaf Claus » Thu Jan 31, 2013 3:51 pm

Hey Steen, your Japi well be soon roer proberly... :D

wat is with the Tank meeting by Reinhold Müller in Julie? are you comming?
regards Olaf

User avatar
Steen Vøler
Posts: 516
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:45 pm
Location: Denmark
Has liked: 19 times
Been Liked: 92 times
Contact:

Re: Can I change the sound unit

Post by Steen Vøler » Fri Feb 01, 2013 9:30 am

Hi Olaf

We are at the moment planning the summer vacation time and if there is no conflict with the travel, I will drive down to the meeting.

By the way - good news that you are coming to the Armortek day in September - I will be there with 2 friends, but without the JagdPanther as we are flying in from Copenhagen.

I really look forward to see your JagdPanther - it is looking fantastic :-)

cheers/Gruss
Steen
cheers
Steen

www.panzerteam.dk

Olaf Claus
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 8:40 pm
Location: "South Front of Ruhrkessel" Siegen West Germany

Re: Can I change the sound unit

Post by Olaf Claus » Fri Feb 08, 2013 10:20 pm

ok Steen , you see the jagdpanther on 13.07 and if all goes well you sse the jagdpanther on open days we come with models! provided that the customs officers opens the border... :D

Post Reply